Sign in with
Your question

How can I improve a home built pc?

Last response: in Systems
June 20, 2012 4:40:32 PM

Hi guys,
First off, let me tell you I am a total noob.
I just inherited a home-built PC.
It's kind of a piece of ***, and I'd like to know how i can improve it without replacing everything-
I'm not after a savage gaming machine, I'd just like to make the most of what I have without spending too much.
Some parts seem to be way out of balance.
I'd be most grateful if you guys could advise me.
Anyway, here is a summary;

Windows 7 (64-bit)
Intel Pentium D 3.40GHz
3967 MB RAM
NVIDIA GeForce 7100 / NVIDIA nForce 630i
1397GB HDD
CD/DVDRW/BD, CD-RW/DVDRW

System Information
Operating System: Windows 7 (64-bit)
Motherboard Manufacturer: FUJITSU SIEMENS
Motherboard Model: MS-7504VP-PV
Motherboard Version: 1.1
BIOS Manufacturer: American Megatrends Inc.
BIOS Version: V2.0S
BIOS Release Date: 12/16/2008

CPU Information
Manufacturer: GenuineIntel
Type: Intel Pentium D 3.40GHz
Number of CPU's: 1
Cores per CPU: 2
Hyperthreading: Disabled
Measured Speed: 3400.6 MHz
L1 Instruction Cache: 12 K-uops
L1 Data Cache: 2 x 16 KB
L2 Cache Size: 2 x 2 MB
L3 Cache: (N/A)

Memory Information
Total Physical Memory: 3967 MB RAM
Available Physical Memory: 2367 MB RAM
Slot 1: SDRAM, 2048MB
Slot 2: SDRAM, 2048MB
Virtual Memory: C:\pagefile.sys (3967 MB)

Disk Information
Drive Letter (Number): C (Physical drive 0)
Model Number: ST31500341AS
Disk Size (Free space): 1397.2 GBytes (670.3 GBytes)
Disk Cluster Size: 4 KBytes
File System: NTFS

Video Adapters
Description: NVIDIA GeForce 7100 / NVIDIA nForce 630i
Chip Type: GeForce 7100 / nForce 630i
DAC Type: Integrated RAMDAC
Memory: 128MB
Video BIOS: Version 5.73.32.11.7
Driver Provider: NVIDIA
Driver Version: 8.17.13.142
Driver Date: 5-15-2012

More about : improve home built

a b B Homebuilt system
June 20, 2012 5:10:24 PM

You can't upgrade it, it's too old.