Status
Not open for further replies.

weggie

Distinguished
Apr 27, 2012
Hi,

Im a newbie here :) Anyways, im finally upgrading my 9500GT to something beefier. Here are my Specs

i5-2400
Asrock H61m-VS
8gb Kingston Memory 1333 (4gb x 2)

I already have the PSU upgrade in mind so no need to worry about that, my main gripe is... Im heavily biased towards NVIDIA cards, also I only use a 20-inch LG LED Monitor - 1600 x 900 Native Resolution. I was leaning towards a 560 or 560ti but based on research, it might be overkill for my resolution. 550ti performs well in my natve resolution. Do I shell out the extra dough for the 560? Or will the 550ti fit the bill? Or should I just wait for the mid-range Kepler's to roll out? I was hoping to spend $200 max

PS - Not gonna Overclock that much :)

Many thanks!

Solution
There are a couple of ways to go with this and it's going to be up to what you eventually want to do.
You can get what's just enough or you can get more that what's just enough in case you change something else down the road , like your monitor. If for some reason 6 months or a year from now you decide for whatever reason to go with a larger monitor with a higher native resolution you would already have the video card for it.
I'm sure that right now you are fine with the monitor you have but you don't knowe what can happen or what opportunity will come about that could bring you to getting a different monitor. I like the idea of getting the most that you can for the available money that you have.

EVGA 01G-P3-1561-AR GeForce GTX 560 Ti...
There are a couple of ways to go with this and it's going to be up to what you eventually want to do.
You can get what's just enough or you can get more that what's just enough in case you change something else down the road , like your monitor. If for some reason 6 months or a year from now you decide for whatever reason to go with a larger monitor with a higher native resolution you would already have the video card for it.