Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Future proofed 2k gaming pc

Last response: in Systems
June 22, 2012 7:11:53 AM

Hey this is my first time building my own system. I've got a $2000 budget for this, and I am aiming for something that will last the next 2 years and only need slight upgrading rather than a whole new PC to stay up-to-date with the new future games with max graphics and performance.

Purchase date: within the next month, sooner the better.
Budget range: 1800-2100
In Australia, don't have preferred sites, willing to order online. Do trust umart and computer alliance if you are familiar.
Won't be overclocking
Also I may look at SLI 680's in a couple years time when it's time for an upgrade. I don't want to have to replace my whole computer then, just a part or two if possible.

CPU - Intel S1155 Core i7 3770 3.40Ghz Quad Core CPU
Motherboard - Gigabyte S2011 ATX GA-X79-UD3
RAM - DDR3 8GB (2x4G) Geil 1750Mhz RAM Kit
HDD - 2TB Seagate 3.5" 5900rpm SATA 6Gb/s HDD
SSD - 120GB OCZ 2.5" Agility 3 SATA 6Gb/s SSD Drive
GPU - NVIDIA GTX680 2GB Gigabyte PCIe
Case - CoolerMaster Storm Enforcer Case
PSU - 700 Watt Thermaltake Litepower
Disc drive - Blu-Ray combo LG 12xBD-R/16xSATA Drive

I am re-using 2x24 inch monitors 1920x1080 resolutions + keyboard/mouse/5.1 speakers with sub and a 1tb hdd

More about : future proofed gaming

June 22, 2012 8:38:11 AM

Some problems.

CPU is fine, though it is overkill for gaming.

Mobo is good.

RAM. Have never heard of Geil and 1750Mhz (do they even make them at this speed?) is pointless. Get a G.Skill or Corsair Vengeance RAM kit at 1600Mhz and 1.5V. You will want 16GB if your video editing or want super future proofing.

HDD: No point for green drives, get a proper 7200RPM drive. 5900RPM drives are slower and don't offer significant enough power savings to warrant the performance decrease.

SSD: Agility isnt OCZ's top of the line SSD. You will want a Vertex 4.