Rowanmk

Honorable
Jun 22, 2012
Hi All,

I will start with saying I am a complete amateur and any advise I get will be more than welcom and (hopeully) valuable.
I have an existing PC which I think might have one or two decent components, but these components (the good, the bad and the ugly ones) have been borrowed and purchased at different times and now is the time to give this machine a new start.

I currently have the following:
CPU: Intel Core i7 CPU 860 @ 2.8 GHz (L2 CacheSize: 1024)
Board: BIOSTAR Group TP55
Bus Clock: 133 megahertz
MEMORY: 2 x 4GB SDRAM
HARDDISK: SAMSUNG HD200HJ ATA Devce (TurboPC)
GRAPHICS: NVIDIA GeForce GTS 250

As mentioned already, I am a compete amateur so I am unsure of the above info is sufficient to give me some advise on what is worthy tokeep and what can be tossed on the heap.
I am using the computer today mainly for phtoshop and Vegas Movie Sudio HD so i would liketo have somethig that can perform well. I m running Windows 7 Ultimate.
Please lt me have some thoughts and avise on what I should be looking at.

Many thanks
Rowan

there all parts that still have some life to them. i hold off on replacing the cpu/mb till next year or the year after when haswell comes out the i7 you have still fine for photo and games as you have 8g of ram with it. i het a 128g sata for my boot drive and another hard drive when you get the cash just make the ssd the boot drive with windows and photo/video edit software on it.
i have the 250 video card it not a bad card...the one up from that is the 550ti and the 560ti till the 660ti comes out.

Your PC actually looks very good. A couple of generations old, but still effective.
Your graphics card is fine for non gaming use.

As I see it, the weakest part is the hard drive. Unlike your description, it actually is a Sata based drive.
For general work, a SSD is a great performance upgrade.
A SSD would do wonders.
For reliability, I would buy Intel or Samsung.