Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Putting Together First Gaming Computer

Last response: in Systems
June 22, 2012 9:41:48 PM

Hello! I decided to earn my nerd cred and thus it is time for me to build my first computer rather than go through Dell or Alienware again. I also wanted to get a desktop computer because I've been gaming on laptops for the past six years and eventual heating and battery issues always cause me to end up tethered to a cooling pad and outlet anyways.

I selected the parts that I'd like to purchase for this computer and have tried to make sure that there aren't any conflicts, but I'd really appreciate any feedback about my build. Here they are (links are for information, not necessarily where the best price is):

Case: Cooler Master RC-942-KKN1 ("Full" size) Link
Motherboard: ASRock Extreme9 Link
CPU: Intel Core i5-3570K (3.4 GHz, quad core) Link
RAM: G.Skill F3-12800CL9Q-16GBRL (16 GB total) Link
Hard Drive 1: Seagate ST2000DM001 (2 TB) Link
Hard Drive 2: Samsung 830 SSD (256 GB) Link
Disc Drive: Lite-On iHES212-08 (Blu-ray, DVD writer) Link
Video Card: EVGA GeForce GTX 680 (2 TB) Link
Power Supply: Cooler Master RSA00-AMBAJ3-US (1000W) Link
Monitor 1: Asus VS247H-P (23.6" 2ms) Link
Monitor 2: Asus VS247H-P (23.6" 2ms) Link

My primary use for this will be gaming, but I also want to do some software development and minor photo and video editing on it. I also wanted it to have lots of room for future additions, hence the "full" size and the 1000W PSU (the calculated power drain for the above is approximately 513W). My soft budget is $2,000, but I can possibly go up to around $2,500 (which is what the above approximately comes to without tax and shipping).

Are there any conflicts with the parts that I described above? Are there better parts to use or parts that I could go for a lesser version if my primary focus is gaming?

Thanks in advance for all your help!
June 22, 2012 10:38:45 PM