Upgrading Questions need advice

_Nef_

Honorable
Jun 21, 2012
Looking to upgrade my computer not looking to go with anything too crazy but enough to make a noticeable difference in game play. I know a little about upgrading computers my main concern is getting parts that are compatible with the existing/new parts (which I know little about but know this can be a big issue). I know I need a new graphics card and I would like more ram possibly a new processor and/or motherboard. Was also thinking about adding some fans or other cooling parts. The main point of this upgrade is to increase the performance of the games I play because I recently started playing games that are finally to much for my comp to handle without turning the graphics down.

Approximate Purchase Date: Month or so

Budget Range: $300 - $400

System Usage from Most to Least Important: gaming

Parts Not Required: mouse, monitor, keyboard, software

Preferred Website(s) for Parts: newegg.com

Parts Preferences: New to building, no real preference on parts

Overclocking: No

SLI or Crossfire: Maybe

My current desktop specs:

Case - Coolermaster Elite 430 Gaming Case
Processor - AMD Athlon II X2 255 3.1GHz
Cache Per Processor - 2 x 1MB L2 Cache
Memory - 4GB (2GBx2) DDR3 1333
Hard Drive -1TB SATA II 3.0Gb/s 7200RPM HDD
Optical Drive 1 - 24X DVD±R/±RW Dual Layer Drive
Graphics - ATI Radeon HD 5450 1GB PCI Express Graphics
Power Supply - 500W
Operating System - Windows 7 Home Premium 64-Bit
Chipset - NVIDIA GeForce 7025 Chipset
CPU Socket Type - AM3
CPU Main Features - 64 bit Dual Core Processor
GPU/VPU Type - ATI Radeon HD 5450
Graphics Interface - PCI Express 2.0 x16
Memory Capacity - 4GB DDR3
Memory Speed - DDR3 1333
Form Factor - DIMM 240-pin
Memory Spec - 2GB x 2
Memory Slot (Total) - 2
HDD Capacity - 1TB
HDD Interface - SATA II
HDD RPM - 7200rpm

CyberpowerPC Gamer Ultra 2074