Interesting dilemma - Sapphire 6870 not recognized

shirazik

Honorable
Apr 29, 2012
This is my first time posting here and I'm at my wits end.

I have a Gigabyte z68x-ud3h-b3 mobo w/i7 2700k, 16gb Corsair Vengeance ram, a Corsair 750w PSU, and finally, a Sapphire 6870.

The interesting problem I have is this: I bought a gtx 560ti to test and see if the pcie x16 port was messed up, but that card worked fine! (I had to return it because the card kept locking up my computer - a known issue for that particular MSI card)

In addition to that 560ti I bought an ASUS 6870 to test, but that card wasn't being recognized, just like my sapphire 6870.

So I'm left with this:
1. AMD cards are PCIE 2.1 and NVIDIA are 2.0. Logic says that shouldn't matter, but that's one difference. (My mobo has support for pcie3.0)
2. I got two defective graphics cards (highly unlikely)
3. My Mobo doesn't like AMD graphic cards. (I refuse to believe this)

I already updated my BIOS, changed the appropriate settings in the BIOS to go to the pciex16 slot first then the onboard and still nothing.

I have plenty of power, the graphics card fans are spinning, windows just can't recognize the card!!!! I hope someone here can provide some insight...Thanks in advance.

DM186

Splendid
Well the reason you 560 worked is because of the drivers for the nVidia GPU's probley you integrated GPU is a nVidia one. You are going to have to use a driver sweeper to clean all of the nVidia drivers out.

Then you will have to put in your 6870 and use the disk that came with it to load drivers to get started. Then later go to the manufacturers web site and down load the latest up to date drivers if they are not on the disk.

A 2.1 will work in a 2.0 and a 3.0 or visa versa that is not the problem .I will link you to the driver sweepers they are free so here is three to choose from. Good luck to you.

http://download.cnet.com/Driver-Sweeper/3000-2094_4-75219868.html