Upgrading my Dell Inspiron 1501 laptop?

ttg_Avenged

Distinguished
Feb 23, 2012
Alright, this is an old Windows XP 32 bit 1.8GB RAM laptop, with 120GBs of HDD, I believe 1366x768, don't quote me.

I would like to spend some dough to upgrade it, I tried a pirated WIN 7 os (relax, just seeing if it runs swell enough to buy it) and I was wrong, dead wrong. Could I buy a better CPU for this comp? The current is a AMD Athalon (<---typo?)
II. Dual core.. 1.8 or maybe 1.6GHz, not that bad, why is it so laggy -.- there is NONE, NO! drivers for Win 7, thats why I figured Win 7.. is not going to work? I don't mind Linux or Ubuntu. Fastest and easiest :)

(I know how to use both win/linux, as I am a very mild coder for linux :p)

In super short: So what options do I have to upgrade my old Dell Inspiron 1501, or am I better off just buying a new laptop?

americanmambi

Honorable
Oct 5, 2013

Hey I know this post is 1yr later but I will share some of my experience with my Inspiron 1501.
It is advertised as only taking up to 2g of ram. This is a standard by which Dell promoted this laptop back in 06-07. Now I've heard of some running 8g without issues and a stable system. I have updated from 2g to 4g (2sticks of ddr2 Ram for laptop) for about $50, works like a charm, specially with win 7 which dont quote me on this but for stable system the min Ram is 2g, so 4 is twice as much what it needs. My laptop felt a lot more snappier after that RAM upgrade.