Help, AvaDirect $2000ish Gaming/Multi-Media Build for amateur

jPhoenix

Honorable
Jun 24, 2012
Hello all. I'm attempting to configure my first desktop gaming machine from AvaDirect. I don't have any experience in configuring a desktop gaming system and am not very knowledgeable about the importance and quality of various components. I've done some research online, in forums, videos, etc, and have put together a potential system as a starting point.

I was hoping someone could review the system I've put together below and give me some feedback. As said, I'm an amateur so please excuse me if any of parts don't work well together, or if the system in general just isn't efficient due to my lack of know how.

Please help to save money where I've foolishly spent it on a part that's not necceary or is overkill, and help redirect money to parts that I've skimped on where, perhaps, I shouldn't have. My budget is $2000 ish

Here are my answers to some starting point questions:

Approximate Purchase Date: August 2012

Budget Range: $2000ish

System Usage from Most to Least Important: Gaming (graphically intensive first-person-shooters, etc.), primary MultiMedia center for full HD movies in the home, internet (lots of tabs and windows).

Major Concern: Heat, I want the system to run as cool as I can afford while still being able to afford top tier performance, if possible... GPU and CPU cooling. I have very little knowledge on how to achieve this.

2nd Major Concern: How does Sandy Brige vs Ivy Bridge affect my build/performance for the purposes I've outline above? Should I be considering Ivy Bridge only? The present configuration is Sandy Bridge, see below.

Parts Not Required: monitor, speakers

Preferred Website(s): AvaDirect, or any other reputable builder.

Parts Preferences: Full Tower, I guess.

Overclocking: Yes, done by AvaDirect, any advice here is appreciated (not very knowledgeable about overclocking)