CreativeOne

Distinguished
Nov 8, 2005
Hello guys! First timer here and im excited to have found you guys.

First of all I, I am a novice trying to build my first CPU from scratch. Hell it took me 2 months to research a motherboard, I wanted to do it right the first time. I wanted to upgrade it years from now.

Ive always been a AMD fan, so I heard 939 was the craze. So I went and bought the ECS Nforce 939

Next I bought 1 gigs of DDR ram, And I bought a Box with a 500 watt PS. So im getting ready to buy the next important part of the computer. The CPU.. That is when my jaw dropped... Athlon 64/FX. Those cpus are expensive! I did all the research on Motherboard specs and upgradability but not the price down the road.

Well I am fairly cheap because the wife is kinda second guessing the financial situation because of me building a cpu.

What im asking is for some help or some sites on getting an Athlon without having to spend 200 bucks?

Thanks so much!
Corey

mpasternak

Distinguished
Apr 27, 2005
ABSOLUTELY what Kman said

the FX series is not worth it unless you're a serious overclocking gamer. the only difference between them and the other san diego cored CPU's are the MHZ and the unlocked multiplier.

otherwise, if you want CLOSE performance get the 3700+. it's 2.2ghz (400mhz less than the FX55) but can be easily overclocked to the 2.6ghz of the FX with the stock cooling (and good ram). otherwise it's the same chip.

same cache, same architecture, same everything. probably the best bang for the buck.

the other really good choice is the 3200+. it's got 1/2 the cache, but runs lickity split and overclcoks like a beast. and with AMD the cahce difference isnt a huge hit

CreativeOne

Distinguished
Nov 8, 2005
Well the board that I got isn't much of an overclocking board. I just know the board runs neck and neck with the Abit fatality board and it impressed me. Some reviews didn't claim it was a board to overclock with.

But I'm with stability here anywho.