Computer was running and died, now doesn't turn on again

stephenkall

Honorable
Jun 24, 2012
Hello, guys.

I was using my computer when it suddenly restarted. Then it got to windows loading screen and restarted again. Then it didn't pass the POST and restarted again, and right now when I press the power button it just spins the fans for a second and dies.

I've been using it for six months and didn't open its case for a while, so I'm kind of discarding misconnections (I'm sure power button, reset button, power and hdd leds and speakers are fine).

After I left my computer for half hour, I was able to get to the Bios Setup, but then it turned off when I was trying to change the settings and I wasn't able to do that again so far.

My specs:
CPU: Intel i7-2600
MoBo: Asus P8P67 Rev 3.1
RAM: 2x 4GB A-Data Gaming Series DDR-3 1600G 1.5V
Graphics Card: 1x MSI N560GTX V5.1 G/SE
PSU: Cooler Master Bronze GX650W
HD: Seagate Barracuda 2TB SATA2
DVD: SATA Sony DVD-RW

I've tried pretty much everything I saw here: http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/261145-31-perform-steps-posting-post-boot-video-problems

But I actually have one noob question regarding the first point of the checklist: My MoBo has one 8-pin slot for power supply, but my PSU doesn't have one 8-pin power plug. Indeed it has 2 4-pin power plugs, but if I gather them together the patterns don't match the MoBo slot. What I've done so far is to plug only one 4-pin to the first 4-pins of the 8-pin slot in my MoBo, but should this be enough?

Also, another noob question: My Graphics Card has 2 6-pin slots for power supply, and my PSU does have 2 6-pin plugs that fit my video card. Should I plug both? One? None? :p

I noticed that when I didn't touch it for a while, it used to boot for few minutes, but right now that doesn't happen anymore.

I appreciate any suggestions!