RTWinter

Honorable
Jun 24, 2012
This is my first time building a computer. I'm honestly kinda lost so any guidance would be helpful. This first build is one I put together after talking to a person on a forum. I didn't do all that much research into it, aside from what I could gleam from the various store's websites. I didn't include the cost of any peripherals, as I already have them and will upgrade them at a later date. The optical drive I don't see as big of a deal, as I most likely won't be using it that much anyway. The price of the case is not factored in yet as I plan on buying the case in person, I'd rather get a good sense of how it goes together and what it is physically like before purchasing.

PCPartPicker part list / Price breakdown by merchant / Benchmarks

CPU: AMD FX-6100 3.3GHz 6-Core Processor ($136.55 @ DirectCanada)
Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-970A-UD3 ATX AM3+ Motherboard ($107.99 @ Computer Valley)
Memory: G.Skill Ripjaws Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3-1600 Memory ($48.49 @ Newegg Canada)
Hard Drive: Western Digital Caviar Black 750GB 3.5" 7200RPM Internal Hard Drive ($99.99 @ Canada Computers)
Video Card: Gigabyte Radeon HD 6850 1GB Video Card ($129.51 @ DirectCanada)
Power Supply: Corsair 650W ATX12V / EPS12V Power Supply ($79.99 @ Canada Computers)
Total: $602.52
(Prices include shipping and discounts when available.)

I posted this build on another site, and got a terse response by another member who recommended this one.

CPU: Intel Core i3-2120 3.3GHz Dual-Core Processor ($116.39 @ DirectCanada)
Motherboard: ASRock H61M-VS Micro ATX LGA1155 Motherboard ($49.99 @ Canada Computers)
Memory: G.Skill Ripjaws X Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3-1600 Memory ($46.60 @ DirectCanada)
Hard Drive: Seagate Barracuda 1TB 3.5" 7200RPM Internal Hard Drive ($79.88 @ Canada Computers)
Video Card: MSI GeForce GTX 670 2GB Video Card ($406.64 @ DirectCanada)
Power Supply: Antec 620W ATX12V / EPS12V Power Supply ($69.99 @ Canada Computers)
Total: $769.49