2500$ gaming/video editing PC

KrisPC

Honorable
Jun 24, 2012
Hi and thanks for everybody in advance. To begin with this is my first build. My current laptop is over 4 years old and is getting slow for my needs. A year and a half ago I thought about buying a new laptop, but now I've come to realize that desktop computer is much better for my needs.

Approximate Purchase Date: July-August 2012 (I'm going to buy parts one by one when I see a good deal)

Budget Range: ~2500$ (OS, monitor, keyboard, mouse not included)

System Usage from Most to Least Important: gaming, HD video editing/rendering (with tons of layers and 3D effects), surfing and everything else you can imagine

Parts Not Required: Eventually I'm going to replace everything I have at the moment with exception of 3TB and 2TB WD external HDD's

Preferred Website(s) for Parts: Newegg, Amazon

Parts Preferences: Intel, ASUS, EVGA, Corsair, Cooler Master

Overclocking: maybe

SLI or Crossfire: yes

Monitor Resolution: 5760x1080

Additional Comments:

So far I've had my eye on the following components:
CPU: Intel Core i7-3820 $299.99
Motherboard: ASUS Sabertooth X79 $329.99
Video card: 2 x EVGA GeForce GTX 670 FTW 2GB $839.98
Memory: CORSAIR Vengeance 16GB (4 x 4GB) DDR3 1600 $119.99
HDD: 3 x Seagate Barracuda 1TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s in RAID 5 $299.97
SSD: SanDisk Extreme 240GB $239.99
PSU: COOLER MASTER Silent Pro Hybrid 1050W $249.99
Case: COOLER MASTER HAF X $169.99
Cooler: COOLER MASTER Hyper 212 EVO $34.99
ODD: LG Black 14X Blu-ray Burner $69.99
With all the combo deals and discounts the total price is $2,554.87

I have also considered:
CPU: Intel Core i7-3770k and ASUS Sabertooth z77 combo, but I like the option to go for the 6/8 core CPU (hopefully Ivy Bridge-E will come out).
Motherboard: ASUS P9X79 Pro, but Sabertooth mobo looks somewhat cooler and I really like the 5 year warranty.