Oct 31, 2012
31/10/2012 21:57

Hello tomshardware community! This seems the very best place to ask technologicly related questions so i'll get straight to it!

I'm new to terms such as z77, x79, haswell, Ivy-bridge e, etc etc... but I do feel that i'm getting the jist of it now!

So, we know haswell is out Q2 2013, and ivy-bridge e Q3 2013. Let me be clear, I'm looking for the best gaming performance possible, lets ignore cost for such components, and focus on getting the very best for my future PC!

First question, simply put, with the knowledge we know at this stage, what will be the better processor type for gaming next year, haswell or Ivy-bridge e?

2. What will the IB-e socket type be? If 2011, should a x79 motherboard be bought now or will a, for example, Rampage V come out nearer the time with significant improvements?

3. Being a Nvidia fan (they just do it better guys! :L) I want the possibility of being able to run SLI with perhaps a few or more GPU's , will PCI 3.0 (certified or whatever, see, the subject is pritty hazy and confusing, but anyway!) will I be able to perform quad sli on a new 2013 release motherboard perfectly? as in all lanes work x16, or atleast as they should without reducing these figures?

4.Last one! I'm not looking to be a hardcore overclocker, but i will want to push my clock speeds to a certain standard, especially since I would have water cooling. Will overclocking be an issue for Ivy-Bridge-e or indeed haswell (if we think it will be better for gaming)

Thank you for your time! Any replies are greatly appreciated :)

Throw away the idea of Haswell or Ivy Bridge-E for now and just concentrate on Z77+i5 3570k.

The i5 3570k is by far the BEST gaming CPU on the market. Period. The i7's Hyperthreading have NO benefit to the experience of gaming as of now and considering most games still only utilise 2-3 cores, the i5 is where it's at. You can get an i7 3960X if you wished, however, the i5 3570k will be able to keep up in gaming.