Sign in with
Your question

PCI Express 2.0 vs. PCI Express 3.0

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
May 1, 2012 10:09:37 PM

This question of mine has left me absolutely stumped, let's see if one of you can answer, since I'm no pro with Hardware, and I won't claim to be a pro.

So, right now I have a pretty good rig set up, it consists of the following:
- ASUS Sabertooth 55i w/ LGA 1156 socket
- Intel Core i3 540
- 2 EVGA Nvidia GTX 560 FTW 2GB edition
- It has 12 GB of RAM
- It has an SSD in it

And yeah. That's my system. I've been noticing some spunky things going on graphics wise. I'm almost positive it's graphics related anyways, it probably doesn't help much that I have a 1000 Watt PSU and the cards require 550 Watts each. Anyways, my graphics have been really sluggish lately. And the Graphics Driver has crashed a TON! I thought that maybe it was something in the OS. but I had to wipe my drive and reinstall 7 just recently, and the problem persists. The only solution that I came up with were the following:
1) I only have an i3 for heaven's sakes. Bottlenecking is most certainly a possibility, new CPU? (and then I might as well just upgrade to an 1155.)
2) Bandwidth may also be a problem. The board runs the 2 graphics cards on x8 and x8.

So here's what I came up with. I think that I want to try upgrading to a new CPU/Motherboard. The motherboard I have chose to get is the ASUS Sabertooth z77, and the CPU Intel Core i7 2600. It seems like a relatively good build, yes? Well, I was looking at the specs for the motherboard, and ASUS nailed it again with all my requirements, except for one. It will also run 2 cards at x8 and x8. Which is what I have now. BUT! The PCI Express slots are 3.0 instead of 2.0 which begs the question. When I put these in, will the bandwidth be insufficient as it presumably is now? Or will it be sufficient because it's 3.0 and the bandwidth size compared to 2.0 is pretty much doubled? Anybody shed some light on the subject?