~1500 Gaming and Editing Rig

DBounlom

Honorable
Jun 5, 2012
Hello. First build.

Date needed: Immediately unless great deals coming up

Budget Range: ~ $1500. Flexible.

System use: Gaming (all types from Skyrim to Diablo 3 to BF3). Photoshop. Also some video and sideshow editing.

Parts NOT required: Need everything

Preferred parts sites: Will use any site.

Parts preference: I lean towards Intel and nVidia

Overclocking: In the future

SLI/Crossfire: Maybe, but most likely not.

Monitor resolution: 1920 x 1080

--------------------------------------------
I am very open to any suggestions. I am a novice who reads forums. I previously posted about a month ago, but something personal happened. I haven't been able to purchase anything since then. All personal conflicts cleared up, and I want to buy within the next day or two. Here is my build.

http://pcpartpicker.com/p/aQDz

The only question I have is will the Ram be compatible? I looked up the RAM on this compatibility list,

http://www.asrock.com/mb/memory.asp?Model=Z68%20Extreme3%20Gen3

I do not see my RAM on this list. Does anyone know if it will work?

Rough price is $1512

I plan on getting a 1TB 7200 HDD later in a few months.

I kind of want the i7 for more processing power during video edits (not sure if this is even true).

Please let me know if there are any compatibility issues. Any comments on other things I might need is appreciated. Please let me know if I forgot anything. Thank you in advance for the help!

Solution
You have made some good choices.

The PSU you picked out is good. PC Power and Cooling is one of the best in the market. The RAM you picked out is also of good quality. You might as well get the 1600 for a few bucks more.

I would get the AMD Radeon 7970 for its GPU compute power. GTX 670 is better for gaming though (in terms of price and performance). Up to you to decide.

The rest of your parts are good to go I think. :)

Patflute

Honorable
Feb 29, 2012
Screw compatibility lists.