Your question

I5 2500k overheating

Tags:
  • CPUs
  • Intel i5
  • Product
Last response: in CPUs
November 2, 2012 4:43:08 AM

Well I feel like I'm kind of on a PC building/education evolution. I'm still very new to everything, but as I progress I find myself more and more interested and on a quest for knowledge.

So my first build :
Cooler Master Elite 430 Case
Asuss P8z68-V LE mobo
Intel i5 2500k - stock
Corsair Vengeance 1333 RAM - 8gb (4- 2gb sticks)
MSI gtx 660ti PE GPU
Antec Basiq 500w PSU
LG E2360V-PN - 23" monitor 1920x1080

I have 3 of these case fans at the moment:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 6835103022
two are top-rear exhaust and one is the bottom-front intake.

I potentially have room for 3 more case fans: one on the side panel, one on the bottom of the case in front of the PSU and one more top-rear exhaust.

My cable management is okay and airflow appears to not be very restricted considering there is no easy to hide places for cables in this case. I also recently installed the video card and took the time to blow all the dust out...

So far I really haven't stressed my rig with a high end game because, well, I don't have one yet! But I have been playing Tribes Ascend and APB Reloaded (don't judge! They are F2P!)

Anyways, Tribes has been great but I have noticed my CPU is heating over 70c shortly into a game, but it hasn't crashed. Last night while on ABP for just around an hour, my rig started freezing and crashing. Sound would lock and distort and my screen would freeze. I had to force a restart. I loaded and checked some sensors and it appears that I'm overheating.

Because of this, I have a few questions.

1. I'm not overclocked, shouldn't I be able to just play a game with a stock cooler?
2. Should I remove the stock fan and reapply some new paste?
3.Should I install more case fans? If so, I will need a fan controller because I don't have more places to plug into the mobo.