Sign in with
Your question

Reaching a good $600 base computer

Last response: in Systems
June 27, 2012 5:30:18 PM

after my 4870 died, i decided to start again from scratch. my first comp had a phenom II using ddr2 and after reading so much about intel i decided for an I-7 this time around. im not very good with tech though i do read about it, and my goal is to reach a $600 base build with everything besides a keyboard, mice, tv, and dvd drive which i already have.

im also planning on using this computer away from the router and using its built in graphics till i save up money for a 670 and a gpu for the old comp. i have no plans for sli/xfire, though i would like to overclock the I-7 base by 3 megahertz to reach 3.5 ghz. i really cheaped out on this stuff, and im hoping the quality will hold up for atleast 4-5 years without major upgrades like my last comp. here is what ive got so far:

http://secure.newegg.com/WishList/PublicWishDetail.aspx...
some advice on how to get this build better or cheaper would great :sol: 
June 27, 2012 5:40:18 PM

yeah, the insert url button seems broken. fixed
Related resources
June 27, 2012 5:43:07 PM

The mobo and cpu will not work it is a z77 cpu and a z68 mobo... I would get this mobo GA-Z77X-UD5H
June 27, 2012 5:47:17 PM

Yes, the only way a Z68 MOBO will work on a Z77 CPU is if you have a SB CPU and do a BIOS update.
June 27, 2012 5:55:14 PM

"The mobo and cpu will not work it is a z77 cpu and a z68 mobo... I would get this mobo GA-Z77X-UD5H"
ouch, that sucks :S. im trying to keep this below $650 so would this motherboard work? http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...
also, do i lose anything by going open box with the motherboard?

im planning on buying a 670 later and trying out the newest i-7 recon, though thanks for the suggestions. also, does anyone know how integrated graphics connect? is there a hdmi port on the motherboard itself or does it come with some sort of bracket?
June 27, 2012 6:03:49 PM