• Homebuilt
  • Gtx
  • Core
  • Bottleneck
  • Systems
  • Product
Last response: in Systems
June 28, 2012 9:57:24 AM

i have a core i3 2100 3.1ghz is it okay to install a gtx 670 or it will bottleneck ?

More about : core gtx 670

June 28, 2012 12:56:23 PM

im no expert but my thinking is since 670 is PCI 3.0 compatible, you'd probably want at least an Ivy Bridge processor to take advantage of that, otherwise you'd only be able to use PCI 2.0
m
l
a b B Homebuilt system
June 28, 2012 1:45:53 PM

The new cards still can't fully saturate the PCIe 2.0 bandwidth yet, so you don't necessarily need PCIe 3.0. I'm running 2.0, and my 670 crushes my games and there's a significant difference between this and my previous 560Ti.

As for a CPU bottleneck, you may hit some issues in a few games but overall I think you'll be fine. Not many games will really stress the CPU; you might be limited in Skyrim on Ultra, but I'm pretty sure the GPU will be able to still get you 60FPS.

Otherwise, you could upgrade the CPU later down the road.
m
l
Related resources
June 29, 2012 3:34:50 AM

boiler1990 said:
The new cards still can't fully saturate the PCIe 2.0 bandwidth yet, so you don't necessarily need PCIe 3.0. I'm running 2.0, and my 670 crushes my games and there's a significant difference between this and my previous 560Ti.

As for a CPU bottleneck, you may hit some issues in a few games but overall I think you'll be fine. Not many games will really stress the CPU; you might be limited in Skyrim on Ultra, but I'm pretty sure the GPU will be able to still get you 60FPS.

Otherwise, you could upgrade the CPU later down the road.

zugh i dont mean to thread hijack but i have a 560 Ti right now and I really want to upgrade but I'd have to try and sell my 560 Ti plus the waterblcok then get a new GPU and buy a waterblock as well T_T
m
l
June 29, 2012 3:57:24 AM

How much are you selling the 560 ti for?
m
l
June 29, 2012 4:02:31 AM