Sign in with
Your question

New PC Build

Last response: in CPUs
November 4, 2012 11:07:44 AM

I'm planning on seriously upgrading my PC very soon, but cant decide on which CPU will be best.
I'm currently running an AMD Phenom II X4 960T which i have unlocked to X6 and overclocked to 3.8, 12GB Corsair XMS3 and a pair of Sapphire HD5850 Toxic all in a NZXT Phantom.
I am planning on trying Intel this time, but cant decide the best CPU.
the rest of it will be:
ASUS P8Z77-V Pro
16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3-1600
Samsung 830 256GB SSD
Corsair H100 Cooler
My current Hard Drives for data
my current graphics cards, but probably upgrade at somepoint
and my current case.

I am trying to decide between Ivybridge or sandybridge, and then if an i7 is worth the extra money to an i5.

If anyone has any suggestions and can help my decision i would be really grateful!
i have some experience in PC builds, but havent got a clue about the newer intel technology.

More about : build

a b à CPUs
November 4, 2012 11:36:42 AM

Well if you are gaming an i5 will suffice. The i7 offers very minimal to no performance gain on gaming but the i7 was meant to shine on heavily threaded applications and stuff like that. In addition, Ivy bridge is the newer of the two and is faster than a sandy bridge at the same clock. So basically the CPU architecture is more modern and more efficient than the Sandy Bridge. The only drawback is that the Ivy bridge gets hotter quicker compared to the sandy bridge due to it's small die size and inefficient way of drawing heat away which means it will throttle itself easier if you do not have a good cooler when overclocking or you just have terrible airflow in your case with the stock cooler.

Essentially, I am saying for gaming an i5 is all you need. An i7 is useful for heavily threaded applications and that Ivy bridge is better than Sandy but produces heat easier.

Now thats been said here are three CPUs I would recommend to you:

Sandy i5