Sign in with
Your question

Will this card work on my PSU?

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
May 4, 2012 9:12:15 PM

Hello, I am new to upgrading my PC and want to know if I can run a decent card on my current PSU.

I have a dual 12V rail, with 8 and 14 ramps on each, and total wattage of 300. I want to run a fairly low wattage card, such as the GeForce 430 or the Radeon 6570. Will either work?

I was all set to buy a 430 entec or corsair and drop in a Radeon 6750/6770.. but my motherboard has a crappy layout and, believe it or not, the Ram sticks are placed right next to my PCI x16 slot, and therefore most decent cards won't fit.

So since I"m stuck by physical limitations to use a lower end card, I want to see if something will work with my current PSU

More about : card work psu

May 4, 2012 10:02:28 PM

Err sry, 14 and 8 "amps" on my 12V lines.
m
l
a c 170 U Graphics card
May 4, 2012 10:04:48 PM

I doubt you'll have any issues with the HD6570, probably not the 430 either.

I don't have your entire system specs but it should be pretty safe to get either card. The HD6000 series is likely a much better deal than similar NVidia cards.
m
l
Related resources
May 4, 2012 10:09:38 PM

I tend to agree, with regards to pure graphics quality. However, I am nervous about the 400 watt requirement on the Radeon 6570. At least the 430 states only a 300w is needed (although it seems both cards pull roughly the same wattage?)

Sorry I should give more info on my set up:

i5 2320 processor
8 GB ram
1 TB Harddrive
1 CD/RW drive
no card currently, using integrated

Only play medium to low graphics games, like Civ, WoW, etc.

Don't Overclock at all, don't play for long sessions, and as the games I play arent that intensive I doubt I'll be pushing max wattage out of any video card.
m
l
a c 254 U Graphics card
May 4, 2012 10:41:18 PM