First Build - Are i5-3570K temperatures too high?

darrick1994

Honorable
Jun 28, 2012
Computer Specs:
NZXT Phantom 410
Antec EA-650 Green
ASUS P8Z77-V
Intel i5-3570K
Corsair Vengeance 16GB (4x4GB)
Western Digital 1TB 6Gb/s
Western Digital 320 SE GB (got from old store bought computer)
ASUS DRW-24B1ST

I have heard/read that the i5-3570K gets hotter than the i5-2500K but since this is my first ever build, I am still quite new to this so I am not sure if my cpu temperatures are unusually high or not.

I have done some prime95 testing for 5 minutes running at stock speeds (3.8 Ghz) selecting the “In-Place Large FFts” option and these are the temperatures shown in the screenshot below. Why are the core temps from HWMonitor and the cpu temp from ASUS AI Suite II so different? I have googled that cpu temp is an average of the core temps but the average of the core temps from HWMonitor comes no where close to the 64°C cpu temp from AI Suite II
5minofprime95testingat38GHz-InPlaceLargeFFTs.png

After the test, I left it running at idle speeds/loads for around 3 minutes
coolingdownoridletempsat38GHz.png

Afterwards, I overclocked the turbo boost to 4 GHz from 3.8 Ghz and did another prime95 testing for 5 minutes selecting the “In-Place Large FFts” and the temperatures are as shown below
5minofprime95testingat4GHz-InPlaceLargeFFTs.png

Again, I left it to cool down for around 3 minutes after the testing
coolingdownoridletempsat4GhzGHz.png

After doing some more forum reading, I saw someone mention about the room temperature. A thermometer I found inside a refrigerator shows that the room temperature is 32°C (90°F) which I was shocked to find out my room temperature was this hot since it doesn’t feel that hot. But thermometers can’t be wrong, right?

Also, I am using the stock heatsink fan that came with the i5-3570K processor. Does the temperatures show that I may have installed the heatsink fan wrong? I also do not have a graphics card installed.