Sign in with
Your question
Closed

Case Fan DIY

Last response: in Components
November 6, 2012 11:01:40 AM

Hi Guys,

i got a new cooler master 431 Plus cabinet, it was top two 120 mm fan support.. so i though to install an add on case fan.... so opened up the old laptop cool pad (Cooler Master) and took the 120 mm fan which fits properly..

my query is about the connection as it (case fan) has two black wire and two red one...
also i want the creep the PSU power cable and the trick is easy just red to red and black to black ..
would i be needing any resistors or modulator so that i can install on mobo..

sorry for my language i am pretty much confused how to describe this.. i hope i question serves your need.

Regards

More about : case fan diy

November 6, 2012 3:19:06 PM

ahh cumon guy just needed some help... shall i directly connect that 120 mm fan to the psu cable or do i have to attach any thing else during it connections
Score
November 6, 2012 3:24:47 PM

You can connect directly if you have a cable available(you have 2).
I didnt undestand the second part of the "creep the psu power cable". :) 
Score
Related resources
a c 83 ) Power supply
November 6, 2012 3:38:39 PM

If the laptop cooler was a USB powered one, then the fans are most likely looking for 5 volts. So yes. Black to black and red to red.

If the fans are 12 volts. it would be black to black and red to yellow.

Each fan should have a sticker with its power requirements(and the voltage the fans run on).
Score
November 6, 2012 4:29:40 PM

yes it was laptop fan nuke.. as it was old and been tempered earlier the sticker is not there.. but if i directly connect to PSU or buy a power supply plug (four pointer) would that do.. also instead or connecting to psu my mobo also have an extra fan point (3 pin) can i get this sort of pin in market??
Score
November 6, 2012 4:31:15 PM

blacknemesist said:
You can connect directly if you have a cable available(you have 2).