Best AGP card for older system?

eyeofthetiger

Honorable
May 7, 2012
Hi everyone,

I hope someone here can help me with an issue. I am not a computer expert by any stretch of the imagination. I did, however, put together a system in 2005 for myself that has lasted quite a long time. The specs on the system are:

Motherboard: MSI K8N Neo Platinum
CPU: AMD Athlon 64 3400+ (Single Core)
Video Card: ATI Radeon 9800 Pro
RAM: Corsair 3 GB

The problem I have is with my system crashing. I think it must be the video card since it usually only crashes when videos/games are playing. I called ATI/AMD and they said that the video card I have is a legacy card and is no longer supported.

No crying over spilled milk - the card has lasted me almost 7 years and in the tech world, I know I got my money's worth for that card. The RAM is maxed at 3 gigs. The OS was just recently upgraded from 32 bit Vista to 64 bit Windows 7.

So the question is:

What is the best AGP video card for my system? I saw the HIS 4670 but its quite expensive at almost $120. How much more performance will I really see with the HIS 4670 versus a cheaper video card? Is having a 1 gig video card that much better than a 512 mb video card? I keep reading about bottlenecks and how a faster card really might not be noticed due to all kinds of bottlenecks. So any advice?

First of all, what kind of crashing that is? Blue screens? Just shutting down? Something else?

Secondly, do you want to upgrade your PC or just solve the issue? Because first I'd advise solving it, because it might not even be the graphics card that's at fault.

eyeofthetiger

Honorable
May 7, 2012
The crashing is different every time. Most often times its the blue screen of death where it says something about data dumping. Other times it just freezes and the cursor is frozen. Other times, its just a garbled, pixelated mess on screen.