Sign in with
Your question
Closed

AMD FX 8350 heat issue. needs help.

Last response: in CPUs
November 8, 2012 6:45:12 PM

Hello! its my first time at toms hardware and i am also pretty new to building a machine.

I picked up AMD Fx 8150 / Gigabyte 990 fx / 8g ddr3 1600 / msi 7850 in last week.

After building it, the zalman cnp s5x 92mm could barely hold idle temp at mid 40s with boost turned off, not OCed.
So I returned zalman and got Antec 620 liquid cooling, but it's basically doing same hold idle temps at high 30s but goes up to 60 easy when load. After trying another 212 cooler to see the temps too high, I decided to return the cpu.

So I've got now 8350 with same set up but this time with Corsair H80.
At bios, the temp was going insane. it started at 29 then five seconds later it jumped up to 70. I reseated the cooler again yet same results. It is just not cooling at all.

I put the stock cooler in now. the temps are now going from 38 to 55 jumping up and down crazy as stock fan is going crazy.

Could this tell me H80 was a defect?
I previously had phenom II x3 and x4 with 212 cooler. It was holding temps at 45 when load nicely.

Do these fx 8 core cpu have higher temps generally? it seems its too hot! =(
I am going to pick up a new cooler, can you guys recommend me one?
and any tips over this heat issue will be nice.

Thanks!

More about : amd 8350 heat issue

a b à CPUs
November 8, 2012 7:02:06 PM

There fine temps, when I had a 965 BE I would see temps as high as 55-58 as for most 125w TDP processors they do run hot, and your temps are pretty high but ok. The safe temps that AMD has posted says that 62C is the safe anything past that isnt good. How much thermal paste are you using for the air cooled coolers. Using to much isnt good and will cause temps to be high.
Score

Best solution

a c 109 à CPUs
November 8, 2012 7:02:12 PM