Inspiron 620 cpu upgrade

aidanklenk

Honorable
Jul 9, 2012
hello, i have a dell inspiron 620 with an i3-2120 cpu. i want to upgrade to an i5 or i7.
speccy says this is my motherboard - Dell Inc. 0GDG8Y

i dont know what i'm doing, but if its at all possible to upgrade i would like to.
i know laptops cpu's are soldered in, so i was wondering if mine might be?
i tried to look, but i couldn't even find the processor on my motherboard, as i dont know what i'm looking for.
sorry about the dumb question, i'm not good with computers, but i want to be able to make it run faster.

also, if anyone could give me any links to a good set of RAM, it states i can have 8gb max (2x4gb) but i always see stuff like 204-pin and 240-pin. and 1333 mhz, and 1600 mhz, and i don't know what my desktop can take.

i tried to watch a video about all this, put i just couldn't put the pieces together. the motherboard in the video didn't look like mine, and i didn't want to break anything.

Solution
Intel Core i3-2120 processor (3.30GHz with 3MB Cache)

Intel Core i5-2320 processor (3.0GHz with 6MB Cache)

Intel Pentium processor G630 (2.70GHz with 3MB Cache)

Your CPU socket is LGA 1155, don't bother getting a K series since you can't overclock on a OEM board. The above CPUs should work.

Here is the original link: http://en.community.dell.com/support-forums/desktop/f/3514/p/19441900/20074451.aspx

Edit: I also believe this motherboard only supports Sandy Bridge, not Ivy Bridge so you may want to stay away from the 3570. Anyways might be wise performing a bios update if it is available prior to upgrading CPUs. The CPUs I have listed are only examples there are quite a few more, I just can't find the TDP of your motherboard to nail...

aidanklenk

Honorable
Jul 9, 2012