Sign in with
Your question

$1600 Gaming PC Build Advice

Last response: in Systems
July 2, 2012 11:57:34 PM

Hello,
I'm looking to build my first gaming computer as a graduation present, and would like some advice/opinions on components and builds. I intend to spend around 1600 dollars. I am fairly new at this.

Here is a list of the parts I've been looking at. I don't know if they'll all work together or would be better replaced by a different piece:

CPU - Intel Core i7-3770k
Motherboard - ASUS P8Z77-V
RAM - 16GB Corsair Vengeance
Graphics - HIS Radeon HD 7970
Hard Drive - ???
Case - Corsair Carbide Series 500R
Power Supply - OCZ ZX Series 800W

Thanks in advance for any advice.

---------------------------------------

Approximate Purchase Date: Within the next few weeks

Budget Range: Roughly $1600 or so

System Usage from Most to Least Important: Gaming, surfing internet

Parts Not Required: None, starting from scratch

Preferred Website(s) for Parts: None

Parts Preferences: None

Overclocking: Maybe

SLI or Crossfire: Maybe

Monitor Resolution: Not yet decided

Additional Comments: Primary priorities are video gaming graphics and functionality

---------------------------------------
July 3, 2012 12:10:21 AM

i5 3750k
hyper evo 212+
8GB G.Skill 2X4 kit 1600 1.5v
Gigabyte UD5H Z77
Corsair Agility 4 128GB special on Newegg
1 TB WD Black HDD
EVGA 670
Corsair XH750
Corsair 500R
ASUS VH236H Black 23 Monitor
Deathadder Mouse
Microsoft X4 keyboard
July 3, 2012 12:23:49 AM

CPU - There is no reason to go Ivy 3770k if you are not going to be running non-gaming CPU-Intensive apps (3d modeling, video rendering/editing etc) I'd say right now the ideal gaming CPU is still a 2500k. It overclocks like a beast and can be really pushed when you cool it with a Cooler Master Hyper 212

GPU - Go GTX 670, right now, its the best single-gpu solution.

RAM - 8GB, traditionally, gaming only needs 4GB, but just incase.