Sign in with
Your question

Power Supply smells burned.

Last response: in Components
November 11, 2012 9:07:54 AM

My power supply is iMaster PRO 500w. I have been using it since May 28,2012 and it didn't gave me any problem except for its noisy fans. Then i bought a sapphire HD 7770 last November 4. Everything went fine, but a moment ago while i'm playing sleeping dogs i smell something burning then i put my nose near to the PSU and the burning smell really came from it. I didn't shut down my computer cause i'm guessing the game is stressing my PSU, then after like 4 hours. The strong smell came off, but if i smell it near the PSU, i can still smell it, even though it smells burned everything is going fin and i can still use my computer. Btw, my computer is always open like 22 hours a day.

Here is my specs.
Intel G630
PSU iMaster PRO 500w
Asus P8H61 M-LX
4GB RAM
Sapphire Vapor-X HD 7770.

Edit:
I already bought a new PSU, "Seasonic S12II 520w". The smelling burn still occurs, so do you think its the motherboard? or what causes it?
a b ) Power supply
November 11, 2012 11:29:59 AM

I had a low end ps fry after only four days. Hope you have a spare. If not, check craigslist for one. I recommend antec, corsair, ocz, seasonic, enermax, xfx, and some models of other brands, such as fsp. I don't know who makes your iMaster.
m
l
November 11, 2012 12:08:19 PM

yeah, i thought its a branded cpu, but after i bought and did a research there is no name for it, almost look like a generic. Mistake on my side.

So you think i can't use it anymore?
m
l
Related resources
a b ) Power supply
November 11, 2012 12:15:15 PM

Hi :) 

We see (or smell) this all the time on customers machines in my shops...

Burned smell = drop psu in bin = fit new

So NO you cannot use it anymore unless you want to risk your motherboard and cpu etc..

All the best Brett :) 
m
l
November 11, 2012 7:18:29 PM
a b ) Power supply
November 11, 2012 8:09:23 PM