Best i7 for Software Development/Testing

rhinohuey

Honorable
Nov 11, 2012
I am a software development hobbyist looking to build a new desktop from the group up. Money is no an issue, to a certain extent--I do not want to spend hundreds on something I will never use...but NEVER want to be disappointed that I didn't spend the extra couple hundred on something I'm trying to do in the future. I'm trying to keep the whole build under $2000 (not including displays or other peripherals), but that is flexible.

I've done a lot of research/comparing, but the huge number of different options can be overwhelming!! I'm am looking for opinions on what CPU/motherboard to go with.

I definitely plan to be running several virtual machines at the same time for testing, experimentation, educational purposes. I never play games, but I want to be able to do HD video editing/rendering. I would like have the capability to use multiple GPUs.

The computer will also be used as a media center for a large 52" HDMI monitor/surround sound system. I want to be able to watch an HD movie and run several applications on the computer with no hiccups.

The CPU I have been considering is the i7-3930k...how will this do with running several VMs?

Any advice/input is greatly appreciated! (Again, money is no issue as long as its justified) Thanks!!

rhinohuey

Honorable
Nov 11, 2012

For a few hundred dollar price difference is it really not worth it to go with the 3930k that also supports VT-d?

Also, what sort of trade offs would I be paying to go with server series hardware? Any reason that a dual Xeon build would be a better way to go?

Thanks for your help!!

I can't see the i7-3930k on the Compatible CPUs List, although it might work (http://processormatch.intel.com/CompDB/SearchResult.aspx?BoardName=dz77ga70k).
And it includes VT-d support only on the C2 stepping.