Sign in with
Your question

Issues with computer restarts

Last response: in Systems
July 4, 2012 12:48:00 AM

I have been using a computer I built myself for the past 4 years, I consider myself pretty tech savvy but I have come across an issue that continues to baffle me, I do not know what to make of it.

Basically, the computer will restart at seemingly random times, whether it be during a game, watching a stream, or just on the desktop. Now immediately I thought it could be the power supply, but I wanted to test some other things first. Here is what I have done so far.

Hardware specs:

CPU: Intel Core2Duo e8400 (stock clock)
GPU: Sapphire Radeon HD 4850 (stock clock)
PSU: Corsair VX450W (replaced with a spare Corsair TX650W)
HDD: Seagate Barracuda, 250 GB
Motherboard: Gigabyte P-43 (LGA-775)
RAM: Corsair XMS2 DDR2-800 (4 GB)
Network Adapter: D-Link wireless WDA-2320

tests:

CPU: Prime95 for 4 hours, and OCCT CPU test, 0 problems, 0 errors

GPU: CCC stability test, OCCT GPU test, 0 errors, stable

RAM: memtest, 2 full passes, 0 errors

HDD: HDTune and disk defragment, no bad sectors

OCCt LINPACK test fails immediately and causes a system restart every time.

So after testing all the major stuff, I replaced the power supply with another from a similar computer I have, still had the problem so I know it is not the power supply. I also took the power supply from my computer and installed it in another, no problems.

I also swapped out the RAM in case there was an issue with memtest, still had the problem, the RAM worked fine in the other computer as well.