Sign in with
Your question

$700, new PC builder.

Tags:
  • New Build
  • Systems
Last response: in Systems
July 4, 2012 7:34:27 PM

Hello! First off I suppose I should state that I'm VERY new to computers. Well, I play games pretty hardcore, but I'm now just getting into the tech stuff, and it's quite interesting. As of now I have a laptop, it simply isn't cutting it. So, I thought I'd build a PC. I have essentially no knowledge on what is good or bad to have though, so I asked a friend. He basically complied this list of materials and I have no idea if they are good or bad. My "gut feeling" is telling my that something is off. But since I know almost nothing, I don't know for sure. But I THINK the power supply that comes with this case does not have enough wattage/power. So basically, I'm asking for people to check this list and make sure it is compatible and that it will run. Possibly tell me some upgrades if they are cheap as I want to stay in the $800 or less range. One more thing...My friend offered to build my computer for me for $70. Should I do that or not? He says he has professional equipment, which I don't have. He also says it's quite difficult to do. Which is contradicting all of the guides I have seen online. So, should I risk it and do it myself+have fun or have a "pro" do it? Anyways...Here is the list of stuff. Thanks in advance :D 

http://secure.newegg.com/WishList/PublicWishDetail.aspx...

PS: Sorry for the chunk of text.
PPS: If anyone has a really good guide for computers that is a must read/watch, send it my way please. I will be browsing this forum looking at other topics/stickies for help now.

EDIT: It seems people need to know what I want this rig for. Well, gaming. I want to be able to play every game on minimum settings with ZERO lag, if that's possible? Of course...Medium or Max settings are even better but I don't know if that is doable for my price range? I'll leave that to you experts :p 

More about : 700 builder