Sign in with
Your question

AMD PHENOM II X4 955 BE

Last response: in CPUs
November 13, 2012 6:45:43 PM

Ok folks I am new to computer building and I am self taught. I built my first computer at the beginning of this year and just now decided to get into over clocking a little. Never had any problems with the system. So i download my core temp, cpuid, and prime. I was a little confused when i saw the idle temps at 50 but I went ahead and ran prime to see how a factory clock cpu would do. The temps climbed quickly(at least in my opinion). After five minutes the temps were right at 80 and proceeded to jump all the way to 256c (i assume this is the max temp the sensor can read). Now I'm no rocket scientist but im sure that thing would be a ball of fire in my case. At this point the cpu throttles back to 800mhz. Of course i stop the test let the temps cool. Under normal gaming (BF3 is the most demanding game I play) the temps go up to 70c. So my question.....
1) IS THIS NORMAL OF THE STOCK HSF? I know prime is an extreme stress test on the cpu and i will likely never put that mush load on it but in my research people are getting idle temps in the low to mid 40s and loaded temps mid to high 50s.
2) IF THIS IS NOT NORMAL IS THIS A COMMON PROBLEM? I have looked around but have not been able to get a straight answer. Some forums saying reapply the thermal paste some saying the fan is bad others saying the cpu is shot and the original poster never comes back to say if they had fixed the problem or what the fix was.

Here are the specs let me know if you need any other info.
CORSAIR CS 750W PSU
MSI 970A-G45 MOBO
PHENOM II X4 955 BE STOCK CLOCKS AND FAN
KINGSTON RAM 8GB 1333MHZ
WD 500GB HDD
XFX 6850HD

Cant remember the case (its a lower end brand i think) Mid tower one intake fan(120mm) one exhaust fan(120mm) and one side fan(240mm I think).
Took a screen shot of HWM and will post in just a moment.

More about : amd phenom 955

a b à CPUs
November 13, 2012 7:16:27 PM