Sign in with
Your question

How often should one buy cpus for best price performance over time

Last response: in CPUs
Anonymous
November 14, 2012 3:16:49 PM

Hello,
I've been cracking my head around this but since I'm not very good at math maybe some who is can answer this question: for the best price/performance over time how often should one buy cpus, it seems to me the performance of cpus goes up buy 20-25%/year, so considering that how does one calculate how often should one buy them? even better would be if one took in to the equation the price at which one could sell the 2nd hand cpus when we buy the new ones. I think they devalue at about 25%/year within the warranty period and 20%/year after.
a c 159 à CPUs
November 14, 2012 3:22:00 PM

A new video card may be a better investment, but you'll have to list your system specs, budget, and some favorite activities such as games for some recommendations. Another rule of thumb is to replace the cpu when the board fails if it's been more than two years. I also change out the power supply if it smells bad.
a c 122 à CPUs
November 14, 2012 3:37:05 PM

CPU performance has been going up closer to 10-15%/year for the past six years or so. It has slowed down a lot from the ~50%/year before Y2000.

As for how often to replace for best performance per buck, I would say as infrequently as possible. Most people these days could stretch their PCs to 4-5 years if they wanted to without sacrificing much. Every year that you delay a new purchase gives you a lot more bang-per-buck than the few bucks you might earn selling your old PC/CPU more often.

So the frequency is really all about how much of a loss you are willing to take to stay more up to date. I personally do not care about staying up-to-date so I only upgrade when I run into brick walls such as maxed-out RAM.
a c 188 à CPUs
November 14, 2012 3:43:03 PM