Build PC i5 2500K or FX 8120

BlackCath

Honorable
Jul 5, 2012
Hi, I am about to build a PC. I'm a noob with processor, motherboard, well almost everything.

EDIT:

Approximate Purchase Date: This month or next
Budget Range: $600
System Usage from Most to Least Important: Software Development, DBMS, Gaming, Watching Movies
Parts Not Required: Case, Monitor, Hard Drive, Optical Drives, Keyboard, Mouse, Speakers
Preferred Website(s) for Parts: Any site that can deliver in México *
Parts Preferences:
Overclocking: Not sure if needed
SLI or Crossfire: Maybe later
Monitor Resolution:
Additional Comments: There are no good dealers in Mexico, is hard to find a processor even at bestbuy.mx

The purpouse of this PC is, above all other options, productivity. I'm a software developer, I use VS2010, ExpressionBlend, MSSQL, PostgreSQL, Eclipse, Rad Studio XE, Unity. Not at the same time, of course. Also, I want to use 3 monitors, more space, more code, more tests.

But, sometimes, I'd like to play games, or watch movies. I don't want to play the latest game at full settings and high quality. It's not my objective. But I want something decent to enjoy a game like starcraft2 with good quality. I've read that is a good option to save a few bucks from the processor, and buy a better video card. Whicj video card do you recommend for me?

So, for my system, is good enough the FX 8120? Or should I go for the 2500K? Or another?

Any help with the motherboard will be very appreciated.

Note: I have a limited budget.

If you need more details. just ask.. :)

* I'm not sure if Amazon, Microcenter or those kind of sites can deliver to my country, I've never done this before.

Thanks.

Solution