Sign in with
Your question

From 2006 Macbook Pro to 2012 NEW BUILD (Gamer)

Last response: in Systems
July 5, 2012 11:11:00 PM

Hello everyone,

As the title states, I'm about to upgrade from a 2006 2.4ghz dual core MBP with 2gb ram, GeForce 8600m. I had to purchase a Macbook in order to use Logic Pro, as I am a musician first and a gamer second.

Nevertheless, I love gaming and consider myself a hardcore FPS gamer. Due to my financial situation, I haven't been able to afford a rig capable of playing anything beyond Battlefield 2, Half-Life 2, etc. My Macbook Pro has to work its ass off to get 25 FPS in STALKER.

So, to the point, I'm extremely excited to finally be able to afford my first real gaming rig.

Approximate Purchase Date: This week

Budget Range: 1300 euro / 1600 US dollars (I'm an American citizen now living in The Netherlands)

System Usage from Most to Least Important: Gaming :sol: 

Preferred Website for Parts: If Newegg would ship to the NL, I would buy from them, but I'm going with www.mycom.nl as they are local and seem to be the closest thing to newegg

Parts Preferences: Intel, EVGA

Overclocking: In the future.

SLI or Crossfire: In the future, maybe.

NEW SYSTEM SPECS

• Intel i5-2500k
  • Asus P8Z77-V Pro
  • Intel SSD 330 120GB (for Windows & Battlefield 3)
  • Western Digital Blue 500GB (for additional games, storage)
  • Corsair White 1600 2x4GB (8GB)
  • EVGA GTX 680 2GB
  • Cooler Master Silencio 550 Case
  • Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO CPU Cooler
  • Cooler Master GX 750Watt PSU
  • Sony 24x DVD Burner
  • Windows 7 64-bit (already own)

I will be purchasing a 22 or 23" monitor in a local store here, and I will probably purchase a second monitor in a year or two.

My two main questions are:

1) Based on my new system specs, is there anything I'm missing, or does anyone see any major flaws in my setup?

2) Is it necessary to purchase a GPU cooler right away, or is it OK to wait a year or two?

Thank you in advance for your help!