Sign in with
Your question

Check computer build

Last response: in Systems
July 6, 2012 6:00:45 PM

I'm new to the DIY world of building computers, and I want to make sure I'm not leaving anything out, or if I'm overlooking something important. Here's the current setup:

CPU: Intel i7 3820

MOTHERBOARD: ASRock X79 Extreme3 LGA 2011 Intel X79 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel

CASE: Rosewill CHALLENGER Black Gaming ATX Mid Tower Computer Case

RAM: Kingston HyperX Blu 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)

HD: Western Digital AV-GP WD10EURX 1TB IntelliPower 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive

SATA CABLE: Rosewill 19.7" Serial ATA III cable

GPU: EVGA 015-P3-1480-KR GeForce GTX 480

CPU FAN: Intel RTS2011AC CPU Cooler

POWER SUPPLY: APEVIA ATX-CB700W 700W ATX12V / EPS12V SLI Ready CrossFire Ready

I already have a keyboard, mouse, and monitor. Do all of these work together? Or is there a component I can change/add to make it cheaper and or better?

The total price of the build is $988 before shipping.

More about : check computer build

July 6, 2012 6:48:21 PM

First off Apevia power supplies are absolute crap. Second, what's the build going to be used for? If it's gaming don't use X79, especially on a build that inexpensive.

You don't need extra SATA cables as your motherboard should come with some, and you can get a way better GPU than the 480 for that price.
m
l
July 6, 2012 6:56:56 PM

g-unit1111 said:
First off Apevia power supplies are absolute crap. Second, what's the build going to be used for? If it's gaming don't use X79, especially on a build that inexpensive.

You don't need extra SATA cables as your motherboard should come with some, and you can get a way better GPU than the 480 for that price.

Well good thing I asked!! So I need a power supply with 700W for the graphics card, but if I'm going with a different graphics card, I suppose I can rethink that.