Sign in with
Your question
Solved

First build ever (3d, bluray htpc)

Last response: in Systems
July 6, 2012 6:25:10 PM

Hi everyone,

So I just want to start out by saying that I am a total noobster here, and this is my first time ever posting on any forum of any kind, so please bare with me, and please try to answer in laymans terms as best as you can.

Approximate Purchase Date: by the end of this month (July, 2010)

System Usage from Most to Least Important: 3d bluray/bluray 80% of time, bluray ripping, streaming, cable viewing/recording 20% of the time.

Budget Range: $800-1000

parts not required: Monitor, (im using this in a dedicated HT room so I will be using a projector and a 120" screen)

Preferred Website(s) for Parts: newegg, amazon, or wherever has the best prices

Parts Preferences: excellent quality, "future proof"

Overclocking: possibly in the future, but dont know if it is needed for a dedicated htpc, advice on this would be appreciaed

SLI or Crossfire: this is like another language to me as I have no clue what it means.

Monitor Resolution: 1080p (this is a must and i couldnt live with anything less)

Additional Comments: I am looking to build a purely dedicated htpc, so no gaming will be done through it (I have a ps3 for this) I have a very large collection of bluray (150 and counting, with my 3d collection growing very rapidly as the kids love it) so this is my main purpose for building an htpc so i can rip my entire colletion on to a hard drive(s) and play them back using xmbc, intially I wontb doing any television viewing but the near future (6 monthish) i will so future proofing is a big deal for me. So after many and I mean many weeks of researching I have come up with this build: So could anyone give me adviceon these issues/questions i have

1: Do I need a GPU to handle 3d flawlessly or will the iGPU suffice without loosing any video quality?