First time builder - What do I need? (Budget Gaming PC)

MacaulayRose7

Honorable
Jul 6, 2012
Hello,

I am going to be making my first PC around Christmas time but I was wondering what do I need, item for item.
Obviously I know you need a case, a hard drive, processor, power, fan etc

But I want to know how many etc

For example:
- How many fans do I need
- What motherboard will fit my case
- Will the ram fit anytype of motherboard
- Will the hardrive fit the case
Just questions like that which I need anwsering as obvioulsy I am a noob at PC building.

Thanks

you need these

CPU
motherboard
heatsink(optional but is needed for overclocking.)(CPU usually has one included)
memory (ddr3 1600mhz is recommended. for intel system, get ram that is 1.5v or lower only. for amd system, any ddr3 memory is acceptable
video card (optional but recommended since onboard graphics suck. for amd systems that are not APU chips, video card is manditory)
power supply
case (most motherboards come in ATX form factor. it means that it has 7 expansion slots.)

for fans, the stock cofiguration is good enough for most users

if the case has as many expansion slots as the motherboard, it fits

only ddr3 memory can fit into ddr3 motherboards

hard drives are usually 3.5inch. all cases have mounts for them

fjay

Honorable
Apr 22, 2012
Troll Pretty much nailed it.

As for brands..

CPU: Intel (performance & value for games), AMD - value for multitasking, gaming they are not quite there, but will not bottleneck most games such that your eyes would notice the difference. (i.e. the games will stay above 60fps)
Motherboard: ASUS has always worked well for me, there are other good ones out there though. Motherboards made for AMD CPU's are typically lower cost as well.(socket AM3+) - If you get an Intel board - get Socket LGA 1155.