Sign in with
Your question
Solved

New Build Not Working, CPU Cooler and RAM

Last response: in Systems
July 8, 2012 1:34:50 AM

This is my first build. I got all the parts yesterday, and built into the night. The build went well, and then I tried to power it up. The motherboard light went on and was green, the GPU power lights were green, and the case fans were spinning and lighting up. The only thing that was not working was the CPU fan. The monitor displayed nothing, whether I plugged it into the GPU or the motherboard. This morning, I continued to try and fix it. I unplugged the GPU and removed it from the case and replugged the CPU fan into the motherboard. The fan started, but the ram error light lit up red. Still no display. I pressed the MEMOK button, and the red light flashed but did not fix the problem. I checked the motherboard user’s manual, and the ram was not listed, so I got new RAM today. I put the RAM in, and the CPU fan would not start. Really no idea why this is happening, any help is greatly appreciated! :) 

System Specs:
Motherboard: Asus P8Z77-V LK
CPU: Core i7 3770K
RAM: Corsair Vengeance 8GB
GPU: Asus GTX 680 DirectCU 2 TOP
SSD: OCZ Agility 3 120GB
HDD: Western Digital 1TB Caviar Green
Case: NZXT Phantom 410
PSU: Cooler Master 850W Silent ProM
CPU Cooler: Xigmatek Gaia
Optical Drive: Basic DVD Burner (Not sure of brand)

Best solution

a c 218 à CPUs
a c 180 V Motherboard
July 8, 2012 3:37:14 AM

Did you plug in the 8 pin cpu power connector that is next to the cpu socket it's on the left side near the top left corner and is the blue 8 pin socket. You want to make sure that your pluging in the cpu power connector and not the 8 pin Pci-e power connector. They should be labeled on the cable.
I hope you were careful with the cpu when you put it in the socket and didn't bend any of the pins.
You also want to make sure that the ram sticks and the video card are seated all the way into thier respective slots.