Sign in with
Your question
Closed

$150 Budget - Seek advice on upgrade for L775 Mobo

Last response: in CPUs
November 18, 2012 12:56:24 AM

Hi all,

Looking fora little bit of advice regarding a cpu upgrade.
This is my first self executed CPU upgrade so please go easy on me, as I am not very good with computers, and everything Ive learned over the past couple weeks has been self taught through various information sources.

I currently have a Pentium Dual-Core E5700, 3.0 GHz 800MHz FSB.

I am playing a online game that I intend to multibox, and need to remove my processor bottleneck when loading multiple instances of the game. It currently runs 2 instances, and I need to increase that to 4.

What I am looking for, is advice on the best CPU I could buy for a LGA775 motherboard for a $150-$170 price range.
It MUST be a quadcore, as the software I use dedicates a core to each instance of the game to prevent frame lag issues that will throw my games out of sync.

I have been looking at the Intel Quad 2 Core line, and have been considering the Q8300, due to affordability, and CPU benchmark compared to my current CPU ( benchmarks at approximately 200% of my current )

If anyone that is a little more apt with CPUs and etc could give me advice if there is a better model or a different line, that would be compatible and give better performance for my $, I would very much appreciate it.
I have no intention of swapping out my motherboard, as it a little more of a task than I want to undertake.

Thanks!
a c 220 à CPUs
November 18, 2012 1:15:29 AM

Geez uhm ok well, socket 775 socket CPUs are hard to get a hold of.

First of what motherboard do you have? We need to check if it support quad cores and which ones?
Score
November 18, 2012 1:21:49 AM

Sorry for not including all the information.

It is a Dell 018D1Y.

Chipset is compatible with Quad 2 Core, with Sandra Soft the chipset lists as :
Dell P45/P43/G45/G43.