Help a first timer with building a PC

Ross11

Honorable
Jul 8, 2012
I need your help with building a PC. This is my first time so some of my questions might look really stupid but I want to be sure so I don't mess it up. I don't have a set budget yet because I am selling some stuff first.

I already have monitor, mouse and keyboard. Here is the main parts that I am planning.

Motherboard- Asus Maximus V Gene
PSU- Corsair GS700 (700w)
Processor- i7 2600k/2700k/3770k (depends on how cheap I can find.)
HDD- 1Tb Seagate SATA III 7200rpm 64mb cache.
GPU- GTX 570/580 or 2xGTX 560 Ti in SLI
RAM- Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb 1600mhz

So my questions are is a 700w PSU adequate, do I need more watts or can I use less? I will definitely be overclocking the gpu as high as I can while remaining stable but if I am overclocking the cpu it will only be by 0.4ghz at most. Is it worth getting a cpu cooler/heatsink like this one http://www.scan.co.uk/products/antec-performance-cpu-cooler-heap-pipe or are they only needed for overclocking the processor by large amounts? If I get a PC case with stuff like a USB 3.0 and headphone port at the front panel will the motherboard or case come with all the necessary connectors and cables? Other than the PC case, PSU, CPU, GPU, HDD, ODD, Motherboard and RAM is there ANYTHING else I need for the PC such as extra fans/cables etc.?

Thanks for any advice you can give.

PS. Does anybody know any good websites like scan.co.uk for buying parts cheap? I live in Ireland so I cannot use US sites unless they have cheap international shipping. So far I am mainly sourcing parts from ebay, amazon and scan.

santaclaws

Honorable
Jul 4, 2012
I'd keep the 700W PSU, so you have headroom for future upgrades/overclocking. Get the aftermarket cooler, because once you start overclocking it's kinda hard to stop, we wouldn't want to melt a $300 piece of silicon would we now?