Single or Dual CPU system?

maximusJ

Honorable
Nov 18, 2012
Hey guys,

I'm a 3D animator/video compositor and I want to build a powerfull system that I could use for general work during the day and then heavy rendering over the night time.. Main software packages that I'm using are Maya, Nuke and After Effects.

So naturally I'm thinking about going for Dual Cpu system just so I have more threads (I'm aiming for 32) that could do all the test renders quicker.. I'm just looking for fastest option as the quicker I can get through the CG rendering the faster I can work. My current budget for this would be around £3500.

However this is where stuff gets bit complicated and the more I read the more I'm getting confused. From the research that I've done so far it looks like i7 processors are equal or even quicker then Xeons. However it seems that only xeons can be used to build a dual Cpu system..? Is AMD opterons anywhere close to intel's performance??

I'm just looking for thoughts or opinions on what would work best for me in my current situation? Is the dual cpu systems worth extra cash and will I notice a difference in speed compared to lets say i7 extreme system.

Any thoughts or suggestions would be highly appreciated.

Regards

Max

jaideep1337

Honorable
Sep 5, 2012
A dual CPU system will be a good lot faster but it will be MUCH more expensive. Also Opterons are good too if you wan't a higher core count. Also the dual socket mobos cost a fortune too so I would say stick to a single cpu system with maybe a 3930k or a single 12 core xeon.

burritobob

Honorable
Nov 14, 2012