Sign in with
Your question

Buying new pc.. have some questions

Last response: in Systems
July 9, 2012 12:12:22 AM

Hello everyone, I want a new computer and have a couple of questions I want to solve..

I am currently using the following laptop:

i7 2630 QM
8 gb ram
GTX 560M

What the new desktop will be used for:

Streaming Video Games like League of Legends/Guild Wars 2( using Twitch.tv.) in 1080p

I want to be able to have 60+ fps on atleast medium/high settings for games while watching youtube and running xsplit( for streaming to twitch.tv)

Right now, on my current laptop. My laptop starts overheating/making turns of noise when I stream..It averages 40 some fps and drops occasionally in teamfights and ram used would be around 5.x GB and CPU usage would be around 60 percent
--

Sorry for the detailing, but here are my questions.

My budget is $1600, but I am willing/wanting to save. I am a college student and my parents refuse to buy me a PC for me to game.. so this is money I made during the summer.

1. What kind of Processor? I5 3570k or i7 2600k/3770k

I researched and it said i7 takes advantage of multithreading which isn't really useful for video games, but good for video rendering and heavy photoshop editing. I don't use much photoshop or render videos much, but I will be streaming on twitch.tv. Is that a form of video rendering? Would i7 really benefit me?

2. 8 gb vs 16 gb ram.

According to my usage, how much ram should I get? Of course , I can always get more later. But I think watching youtube/while playing LoL/while streaming to twitch.tv/surfing web takes atleast 5 gb of ram for me currently

3. Graphics card.. which one? Radeon 7970, 7950, 7850, 7770, 7870, GTX 570/670..etc. or sli/crossfire?

I prioritize lag free/high fps rather than ultra graphics. I am comfortable and fine with medium/high graphics on League of Legends.. not sure about Guild Wars 2, but medium would probably be fine