$7500 Budget College Gaming/Music/Photo/Video/Media Rig

tylerjharden

Honorable
Jul 8, 2012
Hi there!

I'm new to the tom's hardware community, but no stranger to custom built computers. While 4 years ago I knew what I wanted and the best choices, I can't say the same now. I'm a sophomore college student going to Kent State (Kent, OH is where I'll be if any stores in the area have deals, which I doubt), with a number of interests that are guiding my new PC rig specs.

I'm looking for a 4-year futureproof desktop PC with room to be upgraded should the need arise. It must suit doing single tasks at a time (i.e. I'm not gaming and editing HD video at the same time, but it needs to perform as well as possible in my budget in each area respectively). I intend to spend my recreational time doing a lot of hardcore gaming in a dual monitor setup or on a 1080p 55+ inch HDTV. I also produce music in FL Studio 10/Pro Tools 10 and would like to be able to expand my capabilities. Adobe CS6, Autodesk Entertainment Creation Suite Ultimate, Pro Tools 10, FL Studio 10, Google Chrome, Sony Vegas, Avid Media Composer, Final Cut Pro, and countless other programs will be running in varying combinations; sometimes simultaneously, sometimes not.

Approximate Purchase Date: e.g.: Before mid-August 2012.

Budget Range: No more than $7500 (including shipping, power conditioner, monitor, and aesthetics/accessories/external hardware)

System Usage from Most to Least Important: Gaming / Game Server Hosting, Game Development, Music Production, Photo / Video Editing, Programming, Media Streaming (Home Theater), HD Video Online Streaming, School Work (MS Office), Internet Browsing, General Use.

Are you buying a monitor: Yes (Two Monitors + HDTV. Two Monitors are in the budget, HDTV does not count towards my budget)

Parts to Upgrade: I do not currently have an existing system to reuse parts from. Everything will be brand new or bought open-box / B-stock where feasible.