Sign in with
Your question

Upgrading or building gaming rig 800$

Tags:
Last response: in Systems
July 9, 2012 1:49:07 PM

Hello sirs!

Right I'm very new to this so please forgive me for incorrectness, lack of knowledge and general stupidity =).

It's hit that time again where I have got the cash to give the PC a tune up once more, able to spend roughly a max of £500-£600 ($770 - $928, however if a beautiful configuration is found I may be able to push the figure slightly) the current rig does the job reasonably well but is aging, still using a Phenom ii dual core at 3.00 Ghz 545 with 4 Gb of standard DDR3 ram with a nice (small due to case) HIS 6950 2gb HD, likely problems? Im on 650 watt pretty standard PSU with a M4a77TD motherboard, not the best =(.

The Plan: stuck between the i5 2500k and the shiny looking (but apparently not to some) AMD FX-8150 Eight Core, obviously for either of these (or better if you have a suggestion) I'm gonna need a nice new motherboard (recommendations needed) and the finishing touches I would like to include is another HIS HD 6950 to crossfire a possible changing or adding of Ram and a small SSD for tough stuff.

Risks - PSU probably wont handle it, case is almost definitely gonna have to be changed for cooling and space (The 6950 just squeezes in and HIS makes the shortest ones as far as I know) the money is running short already and finally I DONT KNOW IF THIS IS A GOOD IDEA FOR MY RIG AT ALL!?

I would love any help anyone can offer me it would be much appreciated, my aims are to have BF3 maxed on my 24 inch monitor, Skyrim going ultra WHILST using tridef 3d and hopefully to keep future games going strong smoothly such as Bioshock infinite and watch dogs, essentially would like to be able to be maxing games released until early 2013.

Please make any suggestions at all, the best for the budget is what I would love, anyone who can help, thank you very much =)
July 9, 2012 2:06:32 PM