Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Beginner building a computer

Last response: in Systems
July 10, 2012 2:21:37 AM

Hello everyone,

I am looking into building my own computer as the one I have now is roughly 8 years old (Dell Dimension 8400). I have never built a computer before in my life and I have limited experience when it comes to computer parts. I have put together a list of parts and would like some criticism on what I should add/replace and also if these parts are compatible with each other (ie. if everything will fit in the case).

So as a disclaimer, I am mainly using this computer for steam games such as CS:S and CS 1.6 [I know, old school lol], so not really high-intensity gaming. I will also be doing some web browsing, movie watching, video editing, photoshop, email, etc.

Now my budget is between $650-$750 because I am a broke college student who's working the entire summer to pay for this computer (along with other bills and such).

One last thing is that I am planning on using the old optical drive on my Dell and I recently bought a Dynex 550W PSU from BestBuy. I'm not sure if these will be compatible/sufficient with the system that I am trying to build, but I am trying to save as much money as possible. :( 

So here is the link to the computer parts: http://pcpartpicker.com/p/bJbF

Suggestions and criticism are greatly welcomed! Thanks in advance!
July 10, 2012 4:17:34 AM

wiinippongamer said:
That PSU you got at bestbuy is a waste of money. All else seems fine to me.

This is a much better choice: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...

Worst thing you can do is skimp on the PSU, if one day it decides to give up it'll likely take your expensive gear with it too.

Okay, I will buy a new PSU. What about the optical drive from my old dell. Can I just use that one in the new computer? I mean it's only $15 to buy a new one, but saved money is made money lol
m
l
Related resources
July 10, 2012 5:12:03 AM