Status
Not open for further replies.

lazlopanaflx

Honorable
May 16, 2012
Hey all,

I am somewhat new to PC building. I attempted to upgrade my PC with a new video card and run SLI. I am trying to run two of the "MSI nVidia GeForce GTX 470 1280 MB DDR5" video cards. My system ran one card perfectly, but I was bored and wanted a new project to see if I knew what I was doing. The MOBO im using is the ASUS Rampage III Gene. The power supply I am using is the Corsair CMPSU-750TX 750-Watt TX Series 80 . I connected the other video card to the mobo, set up the SLI bridge, and connected the PCI-e connections. My problem is my video input isn't being recognized. Nothing will display on my monitor.... I put the input in to both video cards. I disconnected my second video card and tried running just the original, I cant get any picture. The cards fan spins, so power is being run to it, but nothing is displayed to my monitor.

Any ideas on what the problem may be? Any suggestions on what to do? Do you need any more information from me? I am lost and don't know where to start trouble shooting. Any help is greatly appreciated.

Thanks!!!!!!!

Solution
Well, if you can't overload them using just one card - you'll need two to mess it up. Normally, overloading you psu temporary wouldn't do too much - but if you keep that config and fire your psu up several while being overloaded, you can damage the circuitry and stuff in your psu - you need to watch out. Just make sure you can still run a single card solution - if not then your psu just broke. Hope this helps!

lazlopanaflx

Honorable
May 16, 2012

I unfortunately can not get to that point since I can't see anything on my monitor. Without the drivers installed, I should still be able to boot up my pc and get a picture on my monitor, right? Then I would be able to install the drivers and configure SLI. Or am I going about this all wrong. Thanks for the reply man, I appreciate it.

You should be able to. What is your PSU?