Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Gaming PC build

Last response: in Systems
July 10, 2012 3:22:48 PM

I originally posted this in the wrong section of the Forums by mistake.

Hi folks, I am considering building a gaming rig. I have never built a machine before, but I have enough knowledge to pull it off I think, either that or really screw things up badly lol. I have a tentative parts list in mind, and I am just looking for some feedback on the selected components. Specifically I am looking to make sure everything is compatible and will work together, also I am wondering about bang for my buck, In other words are there areas I could cut back on cost for my intended purpose, or are there areas that I should ramp up a bit. My intent for the machine is primarily playing WOW, and hopefully GW2 when it releases.

Component list:

MOBO- Asus Maximus V Gene z77 mATX DDR3 Intel LGA 1155

CPU- Intel Core i7 2700K 3.5 GHz 4 Core LGA 1155

RAM- Corsair 16GB Vengeance Low Profile 1600mhz PC3-12800 240 pin Dual ch DDR3 (4ea 4GB sticks)

SSD Drive- Corsair 120 GB force series 3 SATA 3 6GB/s 2.5" SSD

HD- Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB SATA 3 7200 RPM 64MB Cache.

GPU- EVGA GeForce GTX 570 1280 MB GDDR5

PSU- Corsair HX Professional Series 850W

Cooling- Cooler Master V6GT 220W CPU cooler

Case- Antec Dark Fleet DF-85 ATX Full Tower

I think that's all of the important details, any comments would really help. Thank you.

More about : gaming build

July 10, 2012 4:06:23 PM

It would be great to know your maximum budget, since a few of my suggestions depend on it:

1. GTX 570 is definitely a great card for its price, but it is also nearly 2 years old so it isn't the best in efficiency, heat and power use anymore. If your budget allows for it, a GTX 670 or (rumored) 660 Ti will do wonders for your power consumption and heat output, not to mention quite a bit faster too. The only downside is that GTX 670s are $400 now which is ~$120 more than a GTX 570.