Sign in with
Your question
Solved

How to add a sound-card to my PC?

Last response: in Components
November 21, 2012 9:04:03 PM

Hello people

I am thinking of adding a sound card to my PC. I have been running off the terrible motherboard audio for a couple months. Here is the soundcard: http://www.amazon.com/ASUS-XONAR-Channel-Audio-Sound/dp...

Here is my current motherboard: http://www.amazon.com/Gigabyte-Intel-1155-Motherboard-G...

My questions are: Will the soundcard fit into one of the pci slots on my motherboard? If it fits in one of the slots, which one is it? Also, when I am adding a sound card, what do I need to do to my pc? I know I need to download the drivers and disable the motherboard audio, but I don't really know how to disable the MB audio. Do I need to redownload games or my motherboard drivers or any other drivers? Sorry, but I am not really experienced with computers so I don't know that much. If anyone can tell me what I need to do to my PC after physically putting the soundcard in the slot ( If it even fits ) , that would be greatly appreciated! :D 

More about : add sound card

November 21, 2012 9:11:47 PM

Yes it will fit in any of the two you have.The blue ones.The top one is probably running at x16 so it is better for you GPU.Install it on the bottom blue one.
To install it just power off the PC completely,use a screw driver and touch the chassis to discharge static electricity.Connect the card and plug the speakers.Turn on computer.Your OS will recognize the card and will ask for drivers to run it properly.Just install the drivers you downloaded and restart the PC if the OS advices to.
Done.

To disable the audio fom MB you can use the bios but since I dont know the bios you can use the OS.Just go to the Hardware overview and find the "realtek" hardware.Right-click on it and select disable.You can then remove through normal software removal any software associated with the MB audio device.
m
l
a c 558 V Motherboard