Sign in with
Your question

System has power, no video

Last response: in Systems
July 11, 2012 1:30:28 PM

Hi everybody.

I have been building my own computers for over ten years, so I thought I was pretty good with them. But at the moment I feel about as competent as an infant.

I recently built myself a new rig with parts I bought and some donated parts.

AMD Phenom II x4 black edition.
A motherboard from a friend (will find out brand and type)
4GB DDR3 corsair RAM.
120GB SSD
500GB HDD
Radeon 5970.

So I built the system, installed windows, everything was working fine.
I then found the exact same RAM for a good price online so I got 4 more Gig.
Installed it, system booted but then I had a BSOD. Checked the codes etc and it was something to do with the RAM.
So I removed the extra ram, booted, got online and read around to see what I could do to sort it out. I read that I needed to increase the voltage to 2.0V, and that I should also run memcheck to see if the RAM was working properly.

So I installed mem check onto my memory stick and restarted my computer, went into bios. Changed ram voltage to 2V. Changed the boot settings to boot from usb fdd (I assume that is memory sticks).
So I restarted, it said "loading Operating System" then said something else like "failed to boot" or something similar. So I turned it off, thinking that I hadn't installed memcheck correctly or what ever. So I put my pc back to it's original state so I could go online and find out how to use memcheck properly.

Only I couldnt get any video. So I did my standard thing and removed the CMOS battery for a little while, put it back in, still no video. removed GPU, took out and replaced CMOS again, used on board gfx instead of GPU, still no video.